Media vote favors Kentucky to win the SEC title

For the 11th time since 1999, the media has voted Kentucky the favorite to win the Southeastern Conference championship.

LSU freshman Ben Simmons was the choice of the media for SEC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year. Simmons becomes just the second freshman chosen as preseason player of the year by the media, joining Kentucky’s Julius Randle in 2013-14.

Kentucky point guard Tyler Ulis was among players to receive votes for Player of the Year. Other players receiving votes for SEC Player of the Year were Florida’s Dorrian Finney-Smith, Texas A&M’s Danuel House and Vanderbilt’s Damian Jones.

House, Jones, Simmons and Ulis were each All-SEC First Team selections along with Kentucky’s Skal Labissiere and Ole Miss’s Stefan Moody.

Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team. Ties were not broken.